News & Events

Villar SIPAG and the City of Las Pinas celebrate 2nd River Festival

The 2nd Las Pinas River Festival was commemorated with a series of events on February 19 and 20, 2016.

On February 19, 2016, Senator Cynthia Villar led the inauguration of the Zapote River Drive in Las Pinas City with guests, Senator Loren legarda and ASec. Emil Sadain of DPWH. The new road will help to ease traffic flow especially along Zapote Road. It shall also serve as alternative route for motorists going to BF Resort from Zapote. On the same day, the National Marker at the Molino Dam was officially unveiled with the National Heritage Institute and the National Historical Commission of the Philippines represented by Executive Director Ludovico Badoy.

The new Zapote River Drive

A road test of the Zapote River Drive by Sen. Cynthia Villar with Se. Loren Legarda. ASec Emil Sadain, Cong. Mark Villar and Mrs. Mel Aguilar.

Unveiling of the National Marker of the Molino Dam

The Historical Festival was even made joyous by the Drum and Lyre Competition participated by the different public schools in Las Pinas. Among the winners are CAA Elementary School as the Grand Champion, Almanza Elementary School as the Second Placer and Manuyo Elementary School in Third Place.

CAA Elementary School - Grand Champion of the Drum & Lyre Competition

Almanza Elementary School - Second Placer of the Drum & Lyre Competition

Manuyo Elementary School - Third Placer at the Drum & Lyre Competition

On February 20, 2016, the First Las Pinas Historical Fun Run was held, entitled "Takbo Para sa Makasaysayang Zapote River." The 3K Fun Run was joined by 500 runners coming from Las Pinas, Batangas, Cavite, Bulacan, Quezon City, Antipolo, Rizal, Manila, Pampanga, Paranaque, Laguna, and Taguig. The first 10 runners will receive P 5,000.00 and a finisher's medal. Among the Top 10 runners are Mervin Guarte from Pasig City, Nico Cortez from Mandaluyong, Ephiz Kiptarus from Kenya, Jomari Jovelo Mandaluyong, Ellued Kering from Kenya, Wenly Maulas from Pasig, Rowell Galuero from Mindoro, Mark Anthony Oximar from Sta. Mesa, Manila, Carlito Fantilaga of Paranaque and Gilbert Laido from Manila. All runners received loot bags from the sponsors - Unilab, Lotz A Pizza, COKE Femsa and Maynilad.

500 runners joined the First Las Pinas Fun Run: Takbo Para sa Makasaysayang Zapote River

The winning moment of Mervin Guarte as the first finisher of the historic Las Pinas Fun Run

Sen. Cynthia Villar with the first 10 finishers of the Las Pinas 3K Fun Run

© 2011 Villar SIPAG. All Rights Reserved